December, 1 1959

Signing of the Antarctic Treaty

12 countries signed the treaty: South Africa, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, the United States, France, Japan, Norway, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the USSR.
The treaty aims to make the use of Antarctica for peaceful purposes only.
No state can claim the sovereignty of this territory.
The nuclear tests are banned and the radioactive waste repository.
It comes into force June 23, 1961.

» View events related to December, 1